URGENT! – Please Call or Write Your Representative

The Dan Patch Project urgently needs your help.

Thanks to the efforts of city of Savage Mayor Janet Williams, bills calling for Minnesota State Legacy funds to be allocated for the creation and installation of the statues at both the Minnesota State Fairgrounds and Savage Public Library were introduced to the Legacy committees in both the House and Senate Legacy Funding Committees.

In the house, the bill received bipartisan sponsorship in Rep. Drew Christensen, R-Savage and Rep. Alice Hausman, D- St. Paul. In the Senate, the bill was introduced by Sen. Dan Hall, R-Burnsville.

In 2008, Minnesota voters passed the Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment to the sconstitution, which increased the state sales tax three-eights of one percent. Revenues are to be spent on clean water, outdoor heritage, arts and cultural heritage and parks and trails projects.

Representatives from The Dan Patch Project, together with city of Savage Mayor Janet Wiliams testified before the Legacy grant committees in both the house and senate at the Minnesota state capitol in March.

If the bills pass, the sculptures at both the Minnesota State Fairgrounds and Savage Public Library would be paid for, created and installed in less than two years.

Now, it’s your turn to help. The House committee is set to vote this Wednesday as to which projects they recommend. We urgently need you to call or write committee members and voice your support. Please contact:

House Legacy Funding Finance Membership 

Committee Chair

Bob Gunther (R) District: 23A
563 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-3240
E-mail: rep.bob.gunther@house.mn

Vice Chair

Sandy Layman (R) District: 05B
533 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4936
E-mail: rep.sandy.layman@house.mn

DFL Lead

Leon Lillie (DFL) District: 43B
277 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-1188
E-mail: rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

Dario Anselmo (R) District: 49A
579 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4363
E-mail: rep.dario.anselmo@house.mn

Mike Freiberg (DFL) District: 45B
239 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4176
E-mail: rep.mike.freiberg@house.mn

Steve Green (R) District: 02B
413 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-9918
E-mail: rep.steve.green@house.mn

Mary Murphy (DFL) District: 03B
343 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-2676
E-mail: rep.mary.murphy@house.mn

Paul Thissen (DFL) District: 61B
317 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5375
E-mail: rep.paul.thissen@house.mn

Paul Torkelson (R) District: 16B
381 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-9303
E-mail: rep.paul.torkelson@house.mn

Dean Urdahl (R) District: 18A
473 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4344
E-mail: rep.dean.urdahl@house.mn

Jean Wagenius (DFL) District: 63B
251 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4200
E-mail: rep.jean.wagenius@house.mn

Anna Wills (R) District: 57B
491 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4306
E-mail: rep.anna.wills@house.mn

Senate – Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Legacy Finance Committee

Many Senators have links to an email form on their website. If you go to the Legacy Committee page here, you will find links to send emails.

If you prefer to call:

Chair:

Carrie Ruud (10, R)
3233 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4913
E-mail:
sen.carrie.ruud@senate.mn

Vice Chair:

Bill Weber (22, R)
2109 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5650
E-mail:
sen.bill.weber@senate.mn

Ranking Minority Member:

Chris A. Eaton (40, DFL)
2403 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-8869

Jim Carlson (51, DFL)
2207 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-297-8073

Steve A. Cwodzinski (48, DFL)
2319 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-1314

D. Scott Dibble (61, DFL)
2213 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4191

Justin D. Eichorn (05, R)
3213 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-7079

Mark W. Koran (32, R)
3101 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5419

Andrew R. Lang (17, R)
3205 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4918

Andrew Mathews (15, R)
3409 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-8075

David H. Senjem (25, R)
3401 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-3903
E-mail:
sen.david.senjem@senate.mn

Patricia Torres Ray (63, DFL)
2225 Minnesota Senate Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4274